• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Forever Amber

Forever Amber

New User

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 12 February 2001 - 02:52 PM

I just "inherited" a african spur-thigh tortoise (she has been mine for about 3 weeks, she is about 1 and 1/2 yrs old)she has only been fed green leafy lettuce and carrots, but I recently found out she can eat alot more than that. I have been trying to get her to eat new things (blueberries, bell pepper, oranges etc..) but she pretty much just sniffs them and eats the green stuff around it. I know it'll take time for her to get used to new foods, but shouldn't she want to try them at least?
Also I have a question about tortoise houses, she lives outside for the most part, but I've been bringing her in lately (cause it has been very cold in San Diego!)what kind of house should she have?
How do you wash a tortoise? What kind of soap do you use? Do you use warm water or cold water?
Sorry.. but I am very new at this, I adore Mikey and I want her to be happy!
Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!

Forever Amber

#2 Marlaina

Marlaina

• Members
  • 64 posts

Posted 13 February 2001 - 12:28 AM

Hi Amber,