Above Tank Basking Area Pics

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Bob from Accounting

Bob from Accounting

Starting Member

• Members
  • 36 posts
  • Interests:custom cars, zippos, neon, automatic knives, comedy, outsider art, eBay, things in tanks, etc.

Posted 14 February 2005 - 07:40 PM

This is my first attempt at building an above tank basking area. The bin was $10 at Target & the cork bark was the old platform. They are lashed together with twist ties. To cut the hole, first use a knife or razor to make an outline. Then, heat up the area really good with a heat gun or hair dryer. You should then be able to slice through the plastic fairly easily (be careful). I plan on adding more fake plants and rocks tomorrow.

1.JPG
2.JPG
3.JPG

#2 RobBierman

RobBierman

TIT= Totally Into Turtles

• Retired Moderators
  • 4,536 posts
  • Interests:Turtles and Tortoises

Posted 14 February 2005 - 07:43 PM

Wow, this is nice

#3 kjtortoise

kjtortoise

Lord of the Tortoise

• Retired Moderators
  • 11,861 posts

Posted 14 February 2005 - 07:53 PM

looks good to me bob! :) B)
how is it secured to the tank?

#4 Bob from Accounting

Bob from Accounting

Starting Member

• Members
  • 36 posts
  • Interests:custom cars, zippos, neon, automatic knives, comedy, outsider art, eBay, things in tanks, etc.

Posted 14 February 2005 - 08:01 PM

looks good to me bob!  :)  B)
how is it secured to the tank?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

It's not really secured at all. The ramp weighs it down & keeps it from going left or right, and the back is supported by the wall and door. Also, the ridge on the underside of the bin fits almost perfectly around the rim of the tank. Even though my RES is strong, it's not moving.

#5 (invisible:man)

(invisible:man)

User is banned from posting.

• Members
  • 2,656 posts

Posted 14 February 2005 - 08:01 PM

The cork looks pretty close to the lip of the tank... You sure that thing's secure and your turtle(s) can't escape?

#6 Bob from Accounting