TameYourself

AKA Leeann

• Retired Moderators
  • 3,609 posts
  • Interests:Reptiles, turtles mainly.

Posted 14 March 2005 - 11:50 AM

Mosquito Killers
Click it.
Is it safe to use these on turtle ponds? I have a major mosquito larvae problem on all my outdoor ponds. I just added some minnow to one of my stock tanks, to see if they will eat some of them.

#2 QZ

QZ

Mistress of my Domain

• Members Plus
  • 2,311 posts
  • Interests:I am a professional artist. I have been involved with turtles for 25yrs. other interests include dogs, plants, bonsai, reading (nonfiction, science, sci-fi, fantasy, history and other subjects).

Posted 14 March 2005 - 12:31 PM

As far as I know they are safe with turtles, although killifish/mosquito fish are a more biological approach. I have used the dunks, but mostly rely on the killifish to eat them. the fish have survived and bred in my pond and I overwinter some in the indoor tanks. The turtles will eat some, but they are pretty fast.
Qz

#3 TameYourself

TameYourself

AKA Leeann

• Retired Moderators
  • 3,609 posts

Posted 14 March 2005 - 01:28 PM

Where do you get mosquito fish? I know a friend of mmine has some in his pond, he told me he will give me some, but hasn't yet.

#4 Matt S.

Matt S.

Long Time Member

• Global Moderators
  • 8,435 posts

Posted 14 March 2005 - 03:08 PM

Finding turtle safe methods can be difficult. One easy way to prevent mosquito larvae is with agitationů.Add a pump to keep the water moving.

#5 TameYourself

TameYourself

AKA Leeann

• Retired Moderators
  • 3,609 posts

Posted 14 March 2005 - 03:11 PM

I have a pump, filter and fountain to agitate the water. There are still millions of them! Alot of them get sucked into the filter, and it is hard to get them out when I clean the filter pads. darn mosquitoes. All of those products say that they are safe for fish, fish sem to be more sensitive to water than turtles, so I would think it would work. Unless the turtles ate it...

#6 Matt S.

Matt S.