Ultimate guide to the FL snapping turtle

• Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 Wazio

Wazio

Starting Member

• Members
  • 19 posts
  • Interests:Robots, Turtles, Torts, Chameleons, Football, Ect...

Posted 16 July 2005 - 02:01 AM

Ok first, im not a total noob to keeping hard to care for herps. I have been a chameleon breeder for about 3 years now. I like the challenge of keeping an awesome pet. I think that a snapping turtle is one of them. The main problem is that I have not been able to locate any info on them that I can put to half good use. I have found things like: "a 20gal tank will last for a while" "put rocks in the bottom" "don't put rocks in the bottom" "feed 3 times a week" bla bla bla, stuff that is really to vague or contradicts itself to be any use to me. Sure, I could get one for $30 bucks off kingsnake and wing it, but that is not what I want to do. I would like to have the proper information to care for it before it arrives.

I would like to call upon the knowledge of you snapper keepers. If you were to make a sheet called "The Ultimate guide to the FL snapping turtle" what would it say? What to feed, tanks, water ect. . . (If you would like I could post a care sheet on my .com if we get enough info)

As for me, I plan on getting a baby FL snapping turtle, I would assume a small tank would be best at first till he grown into a new one, anybody have and sizes? 10, 20? And any tips that you could direct at me with a baby set-up / care would be great!

So, any help, tips, Etc would be great!!! Thanks a ton!

~Chad B)

#2 el tortuga

el tortuga

Addicted Member

• Members
  • 4,399 posts
  • Interests:Fine art Metalsmithing, reading, turtles.

Posted 18 July 2005 - 12:31 PM

:D Welcome to TT! I can't have snappers where I live so this is just a welcome. You are hardly a noob to herps if you breed long tongues. As a long time turtle keeper I'm very pleased to see you asking questions before jumping into the pond. :blink:

#3 archeolon