• Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 PGAProTortoise

PGAProTortoise

Starting Member

• Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 28 May 2006 - 08:51 PM

I am new to the Tortoise world and want to do it right. I just purchased a new 2x2x6ft Galvanized stock tank and now need to know what to put in it to make it perfect for the little guy. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks for the help.

#2 RobBierman

RobBierman

TIT= Totally Into Turtles

• Retired Moderators
  • 4,536 posts
  • Interests:Turtles and Tortoises

Posted 28 May 2006 - 09:49 PM

For a start, cypress mulch would be a great substrate to use. Try to keep the enclosure humid. And you need a UVB bulb and possibly a heat lamp (depending on the temperature already) I would have a water dish as well as a hiding spot. :)

Edited by RobBierman, 28 May 2006 - 09:49 PM.

#3 Wiggles

Wiggles

• Members Plus
  • 1,442 posts
  • Interests:RC Jets, Computers, Web design, camping & fishing and of course turtles & tortoises.

Posted 29 May 2006 - 07:36 AM

Congrats on your new Redfoot! I have a couple questions for you:

1. About how old is your new guy? If he is a hatchling, you may want to use just sphagnum moss in the beginning. I put the Cypress mulch in my in the beginning and my redfoot hatchlings started eating it.

2. Is this going to be outside or inside? If he is going to be outside, there is no need for a UVB light. If inside then it's your choice on the UVB. I have decided not to use UVB for my hatchlings since they never are out. They stay in their hide 99.9% of the time.

Also, you will need to put a hide in there and keep it moist at all times. You will find that the humidity will stay pretty high if the substrate is kept wet.

As far as playthings or other decrorative things, keep in mind that they like to climb and can easily tipover. I chose not to put anything in my enclosure that they can climb up on.

#4 PGAProTortoise

PGAProTortoise

Starting Member

• Members
  • 21 posts