Cache Valley Bee Removal

Photo
- - - - -

Turtle squirting bubbles, is that normal?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Reby

Reby

New User

• Members Standard
  • 4 posts

Posted 18 January 2011 - 12:49 AM

hi everyone,

I'm really new with turtles and I have an RES, (not yet a year old), who bites the flat wall of the acrylic tank and looks like it's spitting out bubbles. He does this for a few moments, stops, and then I hear him doing it again.

Is this normal? Is it an act of aggression? (My other turtle, also an RES, tries to do a dominance thing against his reflection, but this turtle is nose to nose with the glass).

I'm really hoping it's not a health issue.

Thank you!

Reby

#2 ..AndTheyCallitTurtleLove

..AndTheyCallitTurtleLove

New User

• Members Standard
  • 3 posts

Posted 05 February 2011 - 07:01 AM

Shouldnt worry to much, my turtles used to do it all the time..
Can i ask , do you have any rocks, plants in your tank?
It could well be a sign of being a little bored.

hi everyone,

I'm really new with turtles and I have an RES, (not yet a year old), who bites the flat wall of the acrylic tank and looks like it's spitting out bubbles. He does this for a few moments, stops, and then I hear him doing it again.

Is this normal? Is it an act of aggression? (My other turtle, also an RES, tries to do a dominance thing against his reflection, but this turtle is nose to nose with the glass).

I'm really hoping it's not a health issue.

Thank you!

Reby

#3 turtleluvr99

turtleluvr99

Starting Member

• Members Standard
  • 26 posts
  • Interests:PROUD OWNER OF:
    Michael- a Alligator Snapping Turtle
    Finn- a Reeve's Turtle
    Anna, Sleepy, Max, and Welma
    Spiky- A leaf turtle

Posted 05 March 2011 - 07:01 AM

I heard a lot about Respiratory Infections. If your turtle is blowing bubbles outside of the water (with his nose), or has his mouth open outside of the water (for breathing reasons), you should visit a vet.