Snapper

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 bleecker

bleecker

Normal Member

• Members Plus
  • 339 posts
  • Interests:Carpenter by trade, animals, music, bass player.

Posted 19 February 2011 - 09:34 AM

We live next to a river. We swim there often. When the river floods it has created a small pond/swamp. Frogs breed there. Tons of tadpoles. We saw Snapper tracks in the sand and was searching for it. We were about give up when we spotted him burrowed into the sand for ambush. You can make out his face, eyes squeezed closed. Enjoy.

Attached Thumbnails

• IMG_0260.jpg

#2 CLAWS

CLAWS

The "Filter Man"

• Members Plus
  • 6,470 posts
  • Interests:Gardening, Fishing, Photography, Plant (canna lilly) hybridizer, Turtle equip research, and Turtles.

Posted 19 February 2011 - 03:09 PM

Nice find. You're talking about last year...right! It's been warn here and the 2' of snow has just about melted. Just the other week it was -8F. Can't wait for the ice to melt on the pond. The pond down the street is about 10' deep and the snappers navigate real well in the deep water. Thanks for posting, i'm getting excited now. :P

#3 bleecker

bleecker

Normal Member

• Members Plus
  • 339 posts

Posted 20 February 2011 - 04:42 AM

Nice find. You're talking about last year...right! It's been warn here and the 2' of snow has just about melted. Just the other week it was -8F. Can't wait for the ice to melt on the pond. The pond down the street is about 10' deep and the snappers navigate real well in the deep water. Thanks for posting, i'm getting excited now. :P

Thanks... Yes, it was last summer. I can't wait for spring either... Lake Champlain has a large Common Map population near-by. I think I have pics. I counted 25+ on a sunken dock last summer. The big females had to be all of 12" long. Turtle fever setting in!

#4 AmyW

AmyW

Addicted Member

• Moderator Team
  • 2,367 posts

Posted 20 February 2011 - 08:51 AM