Cache Valley Bee Removal

Photo
- - - - -

Please help me, I just got this new turtle !

map turtle

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Soon

Soon

Starting Member

• Members Standard
  • 40 posts

Posted 03 January 2012 - 09:14 AM

I just bought this new baby turtle. I am not sure yet what kind of map it is but i am pretty sure it is a Ouachita map turtle.. and its shell has been starting to show some white areas. not sure if its shedding or shell rot or fungal infection. I have never seen a turtle shed so i am not very experienced. Please help me out ! really wanted a map turtle for a long time and its hard to find where i live. Thank you !!!

Attached Thumbnails

• Screen shot 2012-01-04 at 12.14.20 AM.png

#2 Cheloniphile

Cheloniphile

Normal Member

• Members Plus
  • 285 posts

Posted 03 January 2012 - 10:51 AM

Hi, Soon. Can't be certain just from a photo, but it doesn't look like shedding to me - it looks more like an abrasion that has the very beginning of fungus growing. This kind of abrasion can be very common in tanks that have "caves" made up of stacked stones or brick, especially paving stones that are made to have a rough surface. High keeled turtles like maps can scrape against the stones while trying to crawl under or through the caves.

If it were one of my turtles, I would remove him to a small "medicinal" tank, i.e. a plastic "shoebox", brush the abrasion lightly with a soft toothbrush, and apply a 50/50 solution of povidone and saline followed by a 2-hour drydock 2x daily. If this is an infected abrasion, fungus and bacteria will die off within a few days, so I would plan on 4 to 6 days of treatment.

When he's back in his own tank I would make sure that his water is very clean - well cycled as far as the ammonia --> nitrite --> nitrate cycle goes, and no uneaten food. Basking time is important and 88 to 92 degrees f (31 - 33.5 c) basking temperature with easy access to water should he overheat.