19 replies to this topic

#1 aqua26

aqua26

Starting Member

• Members Standard
  • 6 posts

Posted 28 June 2012 - 11:03 PM

HI,

My younger brother Got these yesterday I am not a expert or use to take care of turtles.
Can you please tell me what these turtle species are ?

Attached Thumbnails

• 2012-06-29 09.41.jpg

#2 animal kingdom2

animal kingdom2

• Members Plus
  • 1,347 posts

Posted 30 June 2012 - 09:39 PM

If you could post pictures of the plastron (underside) as well as the head and neck, that would help in identifying what type they are. Where are you located? Where did your brother acquire these?

#3 Jordan H

Jordan H

"What is it like when your turtle comes out of its shell?&q

• Members Plus
  • 1,475 posts

Posted 07 July 2012 - 03:52 PM

They look like Indian Tent turtles. I'm not sure the specific type but research that species and you should be able to find out which kind they are specifically. Where did you get those? I've never seen them available before.

#4 justatwinturbo

justatwinturbo

Normal Member

• Members Plus
  • 448 posts

Posted 07 July 2012 - 05:14 PM

The one on top is an indian roofed turtle (pangshura tecta) the one on the bottom is an pink ringed, aka circled tent turtle (pangshura tentoria circumdata)

#5 aqua26

aqua26

Starting Member

• Members Standard
  • 6 posts

Posted 08 July 2012 - 04:10 AM

Both the turtles are same species since My brother got them form a guy who had these & few months back they hatched few more.
That guy also don't know what they are.
I tries to make them upside down & click a photo of the underside but could't do that since they twist back very fast.
But i have got another close-up which is more clear.
I stay in India
.Posted Image

#6 justatwinturbo

justatwinturbo

Normal Member

• Members Plus
  • 448 posts

Posted 08 July 2012 - 08:07 AM

They don't look like the same species, its possible that the guy who hatches them has both species.

#7 aqua26

aqua26

Starting Member